Nokido Ju-Jitsu Ranking Structure

Almost every Martial Art has it’s own version of a belt system, with the Black Belt and White Belt being present in almost every style.  The belt system concept has only been around since 1886, which is very recent considering Martial Arts training (formal and informal) has been around for as long as humans have walked the planet.  Judo founder Dr. Jigoro Kano was the first person to signify martial arts ranking with a cotton belt.  It should be noted that belts/ranks are not transferable between the different styles of martial arts and each art is vastly different with it’s requirements for rank advancement.

For a more detailed history of the colored belt system click here.

Our style of Ju-Jitsu follows a fairly common belt progression for under ranks and follows the Judo belt structure for the black belt ranks.  Ranks are based on ability level of student, knowledge of required material, time in grade, age of the student, ability in randori/sport/grappling and commitment to Nokido Ju-Jitsu.  Like in most arts each color belt up to brown represents a single level at the class (kyu) ranks. Junior Ranks are divided into the Solid belt with a black horizontal stripe.  Brown belt has three levels and is considered an advanced level regarding skill in Ju-Jitsu/Judo.

Black belt is a substantial rank for the Nokido style and takes an average adult a minimum of five years to obtain with regular training.  When an individual reaches 1st Degree Black belt in Nokido Ju-Jitsu they will receive ranking in both Traditional Ju-Jitsu (Nokido) and in Judo. At 4th Degree Black Belt one is considered an expert technician and may wear a black and red panel belt.  Expert status comes after about 10 years of hard training at the black belt level.  When one reaches 6th Degree Black Belt one may wear a white and red panel belt which signifies a master teacher.  This follows the tradition of Judo.

Red belt is the highest rank in Nokido Ju-Jitsu and is awarded at 9th Degree Black Belt.  Red belt represents Senior Master and one should expect to be involved with Nokido Ju-Jitsu for 50 years to obtain this status.

Below is a more detailed list of the progression and classification of each rank in Nokido Ju-Jitsu.

NEW STUDENT – White Belt (10th Class)
Student learns rules of class, class etiquette, base stances and movements, how to break fall, and is introduced to throws/ joint locks/grappling/hand strikes/kicks.

BEGINNER LEVEL – Grey/Yellow/Orange Belt (9th – 7th Class)
Student begins to use basic moves in randori (sparring) and starts to build knowledge base of throws/joint locks/chokes/grappling/hand strikes/kicks.

INTERMEDIATE LEVEL – Green/Blue/Purple Belt (6th – 4th Class)
Student continues to build knowledge base and begins to learn more complex moves and counters.

ADVANCED LEVEL – Brown Belt (3rd – 1st Class)
Student has a vast knowledge base and is learning how to use multiple counters/attacks in randori without exerting much effort.  Brown Belts are held to a higher standard and must begin to assist with instruction.

SKILLED TECHNICIAN – Black Belt (1st – 3rd Dan)
Student has become very proficient with standing and ground combat.  At this stage student is molding the art into their own personal style of Ju-Jitsu.  A student must be at least 16 years old to be awarded black belt status.

EXPERT TECHNICIAN – Black & Red Panel Belt (4th – 5th Dan)
Student/Teacher has the majority of moves and concepts of the Nokido system and is still refining the art to his/her physical and mental abilities.

MASTER TEACHER – White & Red Panel Belt (6th – 8th Dan)
Individual has mastered the Nokido Ju-Jitsu system and is now responsible for spreading knowledge to the state and national sector.

SENIOR MASTER TEACHER – Red Belt (9th – 10th Dan)
Individual has reached the apex of the art and is responsible for spreading Nokido Ju-Jitsu across the world.  Hanshi Gruenwald was the only person in the United States to be promoted to this level.

© Copyright Nokido Ju-Jitsu - North Port Web Design by ClikWiz